Basic Materials/Four Strong Modes/Preface/Presentation

Presentation of the Four Strong Modes

(see the Use Of Color)

Let’s start with a simple definition
A strong mode is one which possesses a strong, DOMINANT-TONIC cadence.

Chord Components
Before we continue, let's recap the names of the chord components -
     a chord is built with what we call a FRAME (the root and the fifth)
          composed of the Primary Notes,
               the COMMON TONE, common to both chords of the progression, and
               the PROPER TONE, specific to each chord of the progression.
          The Secondary Notes consist of
               the MEDIAN (the third), placed inside the FRAME and
               the MOTRIX (the seventh or the sixth), placed outside the FRAME.
                    See Harmony - Basic Materials - Individual Chords

DOMINANT-type Chord
Now let's continue with another simple definition:
A strong "DOMINANT-type" chord is one which has
     the interval of a diminished fifth (or augmented fourth)
          between the two Secondary Notes,
               the MEDIAN and the MOTRIX.
     These chords are represented by the chord symbols "7" and "m6"
          (Ex: G7and Dm6).

All other types of chords (Ex: Dm7, F6, C+7, Am-6) are weak
because they have a perfect fifth (or fourth) between the Secondary Notes.

Any weak chord may be strengthened
     (Dominantized, use BACK button to return)
by the appropriate chromaticism applied to the MEDIAN or to the MOTRIX.

Table of the Four Strong Modes










Click on the chord symbols to hear the progression

Those on a Guided tour should click on next in the Navigation Bar below.

Generation of the Four Strong Modes
1. The Diatonic Major Mode
2. The Diatonic Minor Mode
3. The Chromatic Major Mode
4. The Chromatic Minor Mode
5. Adjacent Chromatic Modes
6. A melodic Example